Aimee Beckmann-Collier- 2021 North Dakota All-State Mixed Choir Director


Aimee Beckmann-Collier is the Ellis and Nelle Levitt Distinguished Professor Emerita of Conducting at Drake University, where she served as Director of Choral Studies from 1989 through 2019. She is a frequent clinician, adjudicator, and guest conductor for high school and college choral festivals, contests, and All-States throughout the country and has conducted in Carnegie Hall and Avery Fisher Hall. Drake ensembles under her leadership have performed in major venues in England, Austria, Italy, France, Germany, Ireland, Wales, Latvia, Estonia, Finland, and the Czech Republic, as well as for conferences of ACDA’s North Central Division.  She has also appeared as a guest conductor and clinician in London and at Minzu University in Beijing and has served on the adjudication panel for the ACDA national conducting competition. 


Dr. Beckmann-Collier has served as president of ACDA’s North Central Division and chaired the 2012 NC ACDA conference.  A former ICDA president, she chaired the 1992 ACDA North Central Division conference and the 1995 ICDA Summer Symposium, was Immersion Day chair of the 2002 North Central Division conference, assistant chair of the 2015 ACDA national conference, and was editor of the publications of ICDA and North Central ACDA.  Her articles on a variety of topics, including Renaissance performance practices, music of the Classical period, teaching critical thinking skills in the choral rehearsal, and the role of music education in a global economy, have appeared in the Choral Journal and the Music Educators Journal.  From 2001 through 2019 Dr. Beckmann-Collier chaired the Drake University Summer Music Institute, which annually offered a variety of mastery teaching programs for music educators. 


A graduate of Saint Mary’s College, Notre Dame, Indiana, which recently  presented her with its Distinguished Alumna Award, Dr. Beckmann-Collier received master’s and doctoral degrees in choral conducting from The University of Iowa where she studied with Don Moses.  She is the recipient of Drake University’s Madelyn Levitt Award for Distinguished Community Service and the Stalnaker Lecturer designation, the Iowa Music Educators Association Distinguished Service Award, the National Federation Interscholastic Music Association Outstanding Music Educator Award, ICDA's Robert McCowen Award, and ACDA’s Weston Noble Lifetime Achievement Award.  In 2017 she was named Drake University's Teacher of the Year.